Back to school!

Life always surprises me.

ImageTwo months ago I was looking for a job and now I’m about to start college, again.

Tomorrow is a school day for me and it feels kinda weird. I will be taking English composition 101 and General Psychology; classes I took fifteen years ago and that I have to retake as pre-requisites for nursing school because I took them more (way more) than seven years ago.

And the really weird thing is that it doesn’t feel that weird at all.

I’m excited like I was when I first went to college all those years back. I feel 18 again, or rather I still feel like I’m 18. I’ve done much since then, I’ve moved to a different country, lived in 5 different states, I’ve traveled the world extensively on my own or with friends, I’ve meet scores of people from all walks of life, from rappers in California to Mormons in Utah and Hipsters in Austin, TX, and everything in between. I got married too, I became an uncle, I got a PhD and I quit my career and yet I still feel the same.

Sure I have changed a bit, mostly in subtle ways. I’ve learnt how to deal with relationships and emotions better. Mostly I know myself better; I take a breather before I react to things happening around me and within me.

But I am still the same.

I haven’t grown less goofy, I still upsets me like it did when I was a teen when people chew loudly or are inconsiderate . The only difference is that now I don’t let it bother me as much. I still like the same things I did back then, I’ve just added more to my stuff-I-enjoy list as the years went by (and did they go by fast).

So it’s been 15 years since I took those classes but it might as well have been yesterday. I don’t feel different and only the mirror is there to tell me that things have changed.

Is it a good thing or a bad thing?

I don’t know. All I know is that tomorrow comes I’ll be in class again and I’m psyched.

About cyrilbussiere

Author (Author.to/CyrilLCBussiere), Writer, Scientist, and Nurse-to-be. I'm into writing, reading, gaming, raising chickens, playing guitar, and traveling. Man, do I love traveling!
Aside | This entry was posted in Poems. Bookmark the permalink.

Share your thoughts

