Writing 101 day six: Character Study

writing-101-june-2014-class-badge-2

“Who’s the most interesting person (or people) you’ve met this year? Today’s twist: Turn your post into a character study.”

 

I have recently gotten involved with Big Brother Big Sister and part of the process of becoming a big brother is being interviewed by one of their staff. That’s how I met Sheila.

I was waiting on a couch for our appointment, looking at the children drawings and inspirational quotes tagged on the walls of the small office when she came down the hall to get me. Sheila is a big lady. She has a round face full of goodness and a smile that just says ‘talk to me, I’ll listen’.

We sat down at her desk for the interview. Everything in her mannerism, from the way she slid her glasses up her small nose, to how she sat in her chair with a pleasurable sigh, screamed, “I’m good with myself and the world” in the most infectious of ways. We just talked past the two hour mark in no time. Some people are just open books, others make you feel like it’s ok to open up; Sheila is both. She’s comfort in the ‘hug-me and you’ll be home’ kind of way.  Even when talking about our relatives who are battling cancer, there was a lightness to our conversation that usually comes from sharing things with close friends.

Sheila is an imposing woman but she carries it like it’s only a means to give better hugs, like she needs that to carry all the caring she has for the world. I met her only briefly and she just couldn’t help passing some of that goodness on to me.

 

About cyrilbussiere

Author (Author.to/CyrilLCBussiere), Writer, Scientist, and Nurse-to-be. I'm into writing, reading, gaming, raising chickens, playing guitar, and traveling. Man, do I love traveling!
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous, Writings. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Writing 101 day six: Character Study

  1. ” Some people are just open books, others make you feel like it’s ok to open up; Sheila is both. She’s comfort in the hug-me and you’ll be home kind of way”
    You said a great deal with these lines. The reader reaches into their own experience/prior knowledge to help create their impressions of her – and reinforces how they feel kindly/supportive towards her.
    Anytime you can engage the reader – tangle their emotions with the characters, it’s very good
    (I’d put quotes around that “me and you’ll be home” – to give it more importance – but that may just be me)
    Nicely done

    Like

  2. Ronovan says:

    Very nice. And a very good organization.
    Much Respect
    Ronovan

    Like

Share your thoughts

