Of Snowstorms and Engagement

In winter 2010 we visited France with my wife (then-girlfriend). We’d only been dating for about half a year by then and the whole trip was really just to introduce her to la familia. Sometimes you just know where things are going to go.

It was our first time traveling together overseas and it went, well, not as expected. It was during those crazy storms over Europe and we had made all kinds of reservations in Paris for the first few days of our stay, before going down to Marseille to be with my peeps for Christmas.The Charles de Gaulle airport closed, there were massive delays and we ended up getting stuck in Houston, TX for three days. We lost our hotel reservations in Paris, but made the most of it: we rented a car and visited Houston to our heart’s content.

Once we made it to France, we took the TGV (high speed train) straight down to Marseille and were thrilled we didn’t miss Christmas altogether (we were worried about that and it would have sucked majorly).

The Christmas celebrations went swimmingly, full of laughter, yummy foods and drinks, and enough swapping between French and English to make me speak English to my family and French to my wife. We usually get at least two Christmas celebrations because my parents are divorced, and sometimes more if one of my siblings does not make it, or spends Christmas with their SO’s family. When that happens we have to repeat the celebrations once we’re all together. One year we got 5 Christmases in a week because of that, or thanks to that one could say, and I ended up putting on pounds I somehow never managed to lose.
After all that merriment, we headed back to Paris earlier than we’d originally planned to enjoy the sights we missed on the way in.

DSC04245

Eiffel Tower, Paris, France, 2010

We got engaged a day later in Paris. It was a wonderful time, cold and crisp, of museums and quaint restaurants and ring hunting (I am of the mind that the whole ring thing, however commercial it is, if done should be done together and the lady should get to pick the piece of metal she is going to wear for the rest of her life, and vice versa for the guy, indeed).

So, yeah, a great time all around, family, croissants and pains aux chocolat every morning (I love those), and engagement.

We got married a year later to the day in Austin, TX and that time my family flew in, even crazier celebrations were had!

I took the picture above the day we got engaged at the feet of the Eiffel Tower.

About cyrilbussiere

Author (Author.to/CyrilLCBussiere), Writer, Scientist, and Nurse-to-be. I'm into writing, reading, gaming, raising chickens, playing guitar, and traveling. Man, do I love traveling!
This entry was posted in Photography, Travels, Writings and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Of Snowstorms and Engagement

  1. moi says:

    That trip sounds superb, even with the delays, β€œIt was a wonderful time, cold and crisp, of museums and quaint restaurants β€œ that line there says it all to me, I’ve never been to Paris, even though I am just across the water in the UK.

    Like

    • Hi moi,
      it was a fun trip.
      I took your advice at heart and added the story to go along with the picture.
      I’m glad you liked it! πŸ™‚
      I’ve only been to the UK twice in the London area when I was a teen. Loved it though! It’s when I first met the Cadbury Creme Eggs, that’s another love story all of its own right there πŸ˜‰

      Like

  2. vivachange77 says:

    First, beautiful picture of the Eiffel Tower. It just says Paris. Your words are like Scheherazade, I hear a good story coming. The story of your engagement and multiple family Christmases feels warm. A memory invoker. The Charles De Gaulle Airport stirred up a memory for me. The first time my husband and I traveled to Europe, we spent hours laying over in the Paris airport.. To while away the time we bought a Travel Scrabble game. Forty-two years later I still have it, complete with the original sales slip, missing only one of the e’s.

    Like

    • I’m glad you liked it! I’m not from Paris and I love visiting my sister there. It’s such an amazing city, just wandering around all day is a delight.
      My wife and I play a lot of scrabble-like games too, Bananagram, which is a free-flowing type of scrabble and Quiddler, which is a card, short-word, scrabble game.
      Be well! πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. vivachange77 says:

    My word lady friends and I play Bananagram and Royalty, my favorite, that has cards for making words like Scrabble but we build on each others’ words. I’ll check out Quiddler. Sounds like my kind of game. Thanks.

    PS I still don’t know what the things on the Dashboard mean in the string of them that includes B and I, which is all I recognize. I’ll be able to do smiley faces when I learn the tech stuff.

    Like

    • I’ll have to check out Royalty, it sounds like an interesting game my wife and I would enjoy. Is it ok for just two players?

      I’m still getting to know the dashboard myself, it’s pretty involved. I’m sure with time we’ll get the hang of it πŸ™‚

      Like

Share your thoughts

