Hummingbird hawk-moth

I’d been seeing this thing in the backyard from the patio. I thought it was a hummingbird (it moves and flaps its wings just like one).
Today I was able to get close and snap a not-too-blurry picture of it and it looked nothing like a hummingbird.
After some googling, it turns out to be a hummingbird hawk-moth.
I’d never heard of them. Half-creepy, half-cool little buggers they are.

DSC06858

About cyrilbussiere

Author (Author.to/CyrilLCBussiere), Writer, Scientist, and Nurse-to-be. I'm into writing, reading, gaming, raising chickens, playing guitar, and traveling. Man, do I love traveling!
This entry was posted in Flowers, Photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Hummingbird hawk-moth

  1. hihowsyou25 says:

    Awesome, really hard to capture well done !

    Like

  2. vivachange77 says:

    Fascinating creature in your backyard. Beautiful picture – colors and the red lines of the flower.

    Like

  3. Tanks! I keep on getting surprised by what shows up in our neck of the woods. There are loads of birds, pretty colorful ones too. I’d love to snap them all, but my camera is a simple cybershot that’s not very good at shooting things that move.

    Like

  4. sheketechad says:

    Yes! They are amazing, and very difficult to snap. I had them when I lived in VA, and have not seen them since. Good job.

    Like

Share your thoughts

