Liebster Award

liebster-award-photoVeena over at Walk to Market, generously nominated me for a Liebster Award. I’m usually really bad at those things, but I decided to make an effort and do the question thing and even nominate a few people.

The Liebster Award is given to up and coming bloggers who have less than 200 followers. Liebster is German and means sweetest, kindest, nicest, dearest, beloved, lovely, kind, pleasant, valued, cute, endearing.

Here are the 11 questions put up and my answers:

  1. In three words tell us about your interests and activities.

Writing, traveling, growing

  1. Why is blogging important to you?

I had no real idea what blogging was going to be when I started at the beginning of the summer and it slowly became a bit of a café for me, where I meet with people I’m slowly getting to know and we share and discuss many different things. It’s very stimulating and engaging. And these interactions are what’s import for me in blogging.

  1. What is your favourite music ?

I really don’t have one. It depends on how I’m feeling right then. I’ll direct you to one of the June 2014 Writing 101 assignment to get a peek at some of my favorites.

  1. If you could turn back the clock, which is the time period you would favour? Why?

Probably childhood so that I can enjoy that most free of times. Sure I couldn’t do exactly whatever I want, but then there’s also nothing that I would really have to do either besides having fun being silly.

  1. What motivates you?

It really depends in what, but overall I would say bettering myself, be it intellectually, as in my writing and reasoning, physically, spiritually or socially. It’s a great motivator because there’s always room for improvement so it never fails me.

  1. One favourite food you would like to tuck into, if you must eat in bed.

Raclette, definitely! It’s a dish of cheese melted to your liking (as in crispy if you so wish) over charcuterie, gherkins, and potatoes. Potentially messy in bed, but so delish!

  1. A friend in need is a friend indeed – share an experience

I broke a friend’s hand on his demand in Junior High, so that he could go to the hospital and get his parents to miss the parent/teacher conference that day and discover that he’d be lying about his grades. Sadly for him, one went to the hospital, the other to the conference…

  1. Which is the latest gadget / App /techno product you are using? How does it help you?

The latest is a Samsung S4, a hand me down from my wife’s grandma, that I use without a plan. It’s really as a mini-tablet for me. I read books, Whatsapp with la familia, and keep up with blogs and stuff via WiFi. (I have a simple phone and a $10 plan for calling and texting, but I refuse to pay for data when I’m always between home and school/work where I have internet access.)

  1. What advice would you have for new bloggers ?

Just enjoy yourself. Blogging is a great way of being true to yourself and meeting people who enjoy you for it.

10. Stand with your eyes closed in any one place of choice. Now open your eyes – tell us about the first thing you observed? Does it tell us a bit of your personality?

Ha, it’s my computer. I spend an inordinate amount of time on it, writing, blogging, websurfing, gaming, watching shows and movies, studying… What does that tell you about my personality? Not sure…

11. Finally, you pop one question for yourself. A free bird! Let’s see what comes to your mind.

Will I be able to resist the peanut butter calling from the pantry today? Probably not… But that’s Okay, I’ll just do extra burpees 😉

 

Now, here are my nominees  (short list, most people I follow have more than 200 followers):

http://hughsviewsandnews.com/

http://brettsfuture.com/

http://eloisedesousa.wordpress.com/

http://cronechronicler.wordpress.com/

 
 

Veena’s questions were so good that I’m sticking with them:

  1. In three words tell us about your interests and activities.
  2. Why is blogging important to you?
  3. What is your favourite music ?
  4. If you could turn back the clock, which is the time period you would favour? Why?
  5. What motivates you?
  6. One favourite food you would like to tuck into, if you must eat in bed.
  7. A friend in need is a friend indeed – share an experience
  8. Which is the latest gadget / App /techno product you are using? How does it help you?
  9. What advice would do you have for new bloggers ?
  10. Stand with your eyes closed in any one place of choice. Now open your eyes – tell us about the first thing you observed? Does it tell us a bit of your personality?
  11. Finally, you pop one question for yourself. A free bird! Let’s see what comes to your mind.

Okay, so that was that. Thanks again to Veena for the nomination and a Happy Sunday to all!

 

About cyrilbussiere

Author (Author.to/CyrilLCBussiere), Writer, Scientist, and Nurse-to-be. I'm into writing, reading, gaming, raising chickens, playing guitar, and traveling. Man, do I love traveling!
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Liebster Award

  1. Many thanks for the nomination, Cyril. That’s made my weekend 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Meredith says:

    Congratulations. Enjoyed the interesting tid bits about you.

    Like

  3. vivachange77 says:

    Hi Cyril. Congratulations on your Liebster Award. I’m moved by your nomination of me for the award. I accept most heartily and will enjoy answering the questions. I just walked in from a trip and it’s too late to begin now. More later. Thanks so very much. Vivachange.

    Like

  4. vivachange77 says:

    I re-read your post today about the Liebster Award being for folks with less than 200 followers. I think I have about 20. Your nomination is especially heart warming to me. I write for the love of writing as an end in itself. I didn’t expect my words to take me to the affirmation of peers like you. I also read your answers to the questions. Delightful to hear more about you.

    Like

  5. vivachange77 says:

    Cyril, I’ve given your Liebster Award nomination a lot more thought. Answering the questions would be fun, however I hesitate after that. The people whose blogs I read regularly have more that 200 others following them and many display the Liebster Award. That inhibits my nominating new people. And here’s my bottom-line thought. I’m content with the joy and purpose I find in writing and the small world of people who follow my blog. I love reading and commenting on their blogs, most especially yours. I have arrived at having for the first time a wonderfully balanced life which includes my writing and also reading with my public library’s book group and a book group of two that I engage in by email with an old high school friend. I have long thought that energy and peace are two sides of a coin. I feel sad writing you this but I believe that declining your dear invitation to receive the Liebster Award is the right thing for me. Thank you so very much.

    I enjoy your posts, too. I’m interested in following where The WorldMight and your Haiku poems take you.

    Like

    • No worries Vivachange, I felt exactly the same way when I got it. But I’ve gotten a few and never passed them on, so I made an effort for that one, so I totally understand. It was more a way of saying ‘I enjoy knowing you’ more than anything else anyway. 🙂

      Like

  6. vivachange77 says:

    Thanks, Cyril. I get your “I enjoy knowing you”. It’s has been coming through to me for a good while. It is a joy for me to know you. If I could figure out the technology I’d put a happy face on my comment.

    Like

    • Thanks for your kind words, vivachange!
      Here’s a couple of smily faces secrets:
      🙂 is : and ) put together (it looks like a face when looked at horizontally)
      😉 is ; and ) put together in the same fashion.
      A great Labor Day Weekend upon you my friend!

      Like

  7. vivachange77 says:

    Thanks for your smiley face lesson. 🙂 I like the wink 😉 too. All the best for your Labor Day holiday!

    Like

  8. vivachange77 says:

    OOh. I wondered how the yellow got on there.

    Like

Share your thoughts

