Wander. A thought dump.

20131004_095430

Disclaimer: The following is a thought dump. I am not responsible for any of it.
Sometimes it pays to get away from the main attractions and wander around -wandering is my favorite thing. I’m very good at it.

Sometimes it’s also good to stand still and get lost in what’s in front of you, but that’s just another kind of wandering I think.

Isn’t life just a big wandering expedition anyway? Some travel without moving at all, others walk the world over and fail to see a thing.

The only negative type of wandering is the running away kind. That one is mostly fruitless and a big waste of time. Although sometimes it’s also a process, walking miles and miles so that we can finally take one true step.

I think I wander a lot because I’ve always been terrible at being attached to ideas and thoughts. Sure, where I was born and raised shaped me in some aspects, at least initially. But then over the course of my wanderings I shed a lot of that. Maybe I saw too much to take anything too seriously. Too many people with very different beliefs saying the same exact things using different words painted over a similar need, and hating each other for it. Too many thoughts shallow and empty broadcasted too loudly.

And in the end, I wandered and the only thing that made it all worth it were the people I met; myself included, for everyday, I soon realized, there’s a new me to discover, new layers to peel away to reveal what’s under, and that’s an ad infinitum process of discovery.

But if not for the people, why else?

 

Picture taken at Angkor, Cambodia, some ways away from one of the temples. 2013.

 

 

 

Signature Thoughts

 

 

 

About cyrilbussiere

Author (Author.to/CyrilLCBussiere), Writer, Scientist, and Nurse-to-be. I'm into writing, reading, gaming, raising chickens, playing guitar, and traveling. Man, do I love traveling!
This entry was posted in Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wander. A thought dump.

  1. Meredith says:

    I wonder why we wander? Seeking some new refuge? Satisfying curiosity? Or just to see what is on the other side? I’m a wanderer, too.

    Like

    • I think we’re just wired that way. I posit that the need for a new scenery or point of view on an old one comes from how things inevitably become back-ground to us, lose their freshness and intensity. Our bodies, especially our brains are very good at adapting (see drug addicts…) and shifting down to baseline yesterday’s high.

      Like

Share your thoughts

