A weekend at Caprock. Caprock Canyon, TX, 2014.

We went camping this weekend (hence the no posts during that time). Two hour away from Lubbock is Caprock Canyon, 25 miles worth of sandy and rocky trails snaking along a shallow canyon.
20140927_091547

There are herds of wild buffalo roaming freely in the park. They came to visit in the middle of the night. Nothing like hearing heavy stomping and breathing outside of your tent in the dark to get your pulse going. Our dog, Chloe, was sleeping outside the tent and woke up when I stirred at the sound. Afraid she might run at the as-yet-unseen bisons, I brought her into our car. My wife got in the back seat and as she opened the door to shine her flashlight at the night and see where the beasts might be, the side lights of the car turned on and two feet on the other side a bison was slowly making its way across our campground, quite unsettling I tell you, a huge, yellowish shadow so close to us. It was a bit harder to get back to sleep after that.

DSC07728

The next day we woke up early and hiked away from the actual canyon. The skies are immense here and the land as flat as a desktop, if not for the canyons seen below.

20140927_111959

The river beds, usually dry, were very much muddy and our 8 mile hike took a tad longer than expected, especially since it was Chloe’s first time out in the wild.

20140927_101712

Since it’s been raining so much lately the desert had bloomed and we were treated to some really funky flowers. Here are a few:

DSC07748DSC07752
20140927_103309

As the sun set, the clouds looked fantastic. We camped in the horse camping area, away from the RVs and other campers, and got lucky to be the only ones there. There was a trough for the horses in the middle of the campground that reflected the sky quite nicely.

DSC07779

At night the stars were amazing. I do not have a good picture of that, but as the sun set and the moon rose, Venus was incredibly bright, brighter than the moon even.

DSC07793

A great weekend, all in all. Although I learned that I’ve lost quite a bit of endurance since our Pacific Crest Trail attempt last year. We also learned that Chloe does well sleeping in the wild (barring Bisons) and takes 8 miles of trail like a champ (that was part of the purpose of that trip) So we’ll definitely do that again, maybe for even longer. Looking at you, New Mexico. πŸ˜‰

 

Signature Photography

About cyrilbussiere

Author (Author.to/CyrilLCBussiere), Writer, Scientist, and Nurse-to-be. I'm into writing, reading, gaming, raising chickens, playing guitar, and traveling. Man, do I love traveling!
This entry was posted in Photography, Travels and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to A weekend at Caprock. Caprock Canyon, TX, 2014.

  1. Sounds like a great weekend, Cyril. Thanks fort sharing it with us and also those great photos. I must admit, I would have been terrified with those buffalo wondering around outside the tent in the middle of the night. Glad to hear it hasn’t put you off from going again.

    Like

    • It was pretty fun, Hugh! Though the bison at night scared the crap at off me… But, it’s nature and definitely better than having a puma stalking you (which happened on the PCT…) πŸ™‚

      Like

      • Oh I so agree. Your comment reminded me of that old joke “what’s the difference between a buffalo and a bison?”

        Like

        • No idea… One has a beard? πŸ˜‰

          Like

          • You can’t wash your hands in a bison. Hope that awful joke did not make you cringe too much Cyril. It’s British humour at its worse.

            Like

          • Haha, I had to look that one up, Hugh! I think you got the Buffalo and Bison switched though :p I had to tell it to my wife, she just made a face at me and shook her head…. Maybe because it was before 5a.m., maybe because she hadn’t had her coffee yet. I, for one, thought it was pretty clever.
            Here’s one I came up with a long while ago, it’s a bit risquΓ© but, oh, well:
            What does a lesbian chick say?

            I’ll let you ponder that one πŸ™‚

            Like

          • I can’t believe I told you that joke wrong, Cyril. Typical me, I’m really no good at telling jokes and should stick to ironing my socks πŸ™‚
            Now your joke has got me thinking and I can’t bear to even write down what I think the answer could be for fear that your post will then become 18 rated. So it’s over to you to let me know the answer. Just warn me if I need to stick my fingers in my ears and close my eyes when you give us the answer πŸ™‚

            Like

          • Hehe πŸ™‚ We’re talking poultry here, obviously πŸ˜‰ (that should fend off the Rated R label)
            From the sound of it you were onto it, indeed it’s much more fun if said out loud and as loud as possible.

            “Cock-a-little-do!” would be the answer.

            My wife never liked this one, and that’s the only bonafide joke I ever come up with so maybe my humor is somewhat British…

            Like

          • So I was on the right track πŸ™‚
            Please apologise to Mrs Bussiere for being subjected to my awful attempt at a joke at 5am!

            Liked by 1 person

  2. What beautiful flowers! Sounds like a fantastic trip. πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. vivachange77 says:

    I love your description of your camping trip and Chloe’s take on things. Your pictures are great, especially the small pink flower, the horse trough and the sunset with Venus and the lady slipper moon. Your guest the buffalo reminds me of the time I went camping in the Allegheny Forest in Pennsylvania with a group of women – all in single person tents. A black bear went through our campsite one night but didn’t disturb us. After that we kept our food in our nearby cars.

    Like

  4. lovessiamese says:

    I love your photo journalism. Your pictures really capture what you want to share and are placed perfectly with the journal. Do you give lessons? My husband has taught me to center the photo and frame it with something to add interest. I’m getting better at that. I have trouble getting them where I want them on my blog. Thank you so much for sharing your experiences.

    Like

Share your thoughts

