Weekly Haiku Challenge XIII

rw-weekly-haiku-challenge

 

Mind frigid of creed

Thoughts frozen into dogma

The spirit can’t rise.

 

Signature poetry

About cyrilbussiere

Author (Author.to/CyrilLCBussiere), Writer, Scientist, and Nurse-to-be. I'm into writing, reading, gaming, raising chickens, playing guitar, and traveling. Man, do I love traveling!
This entry was posted in Poems, Writings and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Weekly Haiku Challenge XIII

  1. Ronovan says:

    Seeing creed always makes me think of the Bible, which you know I love. But not so much love the traditions the Church has put in place over the Word of God. What this Haiku makes me think of is something along the line of:
    Church of ‘traditions’
    Schools of one sided ‘teachings’
    Binds the rise of spirit

    Liked by 2 people

    • More or less what I was going for, Ronovan. I am averse to anything that dulls the spirit of Man. Have you ever hear of Pierre Teilhard de Chardin ? He’s a French philosopher who said: everything that rises converges. I have experienced many a spiritual practice from Christian, Buddhist , Hindu, Muslim and Jewish and other derivatives and it is true that once one gets beyond the rigid creed (at which level most people stay, sadly) it really is mostly the same.

      Liked by 2 people

      • Ronovan says:

        I haven’t heard of him, but have him pulled up now to check him out. I have actually created a site to share my own thoughts of the Bible away from the traditions of the Church and what it and they have made of the Word. If you take the actual words in their real form, undivided by man into a memorization trick form, you end up with messages that are entirely different. I differ greatly with many of my ‘denomination’. I always have to be careful and not say demonation, which is somewhat what having all of these divisions almost causes.
        I like what Gandhi said:
        “I like your Christ, I do not like your Christians. Your Christians are so unlike your Christ.”
        and
        “The message of Jesus as I understand it,” said Gandhi, “is contained in the Sermon on the Mount unadulterated and taken as a whole… If then I had to face only the Sermon on the Mount and my own interpretation of it, I should not hesitate to say, ‘Oh, yes, I am a Christian.’ But negatively I can tell you that in my humble opinion, what passes as Christianity is a negation of the Sermon on the Mount… I am speaking of the Christian belief, of Christianity as it is understood in the west.”

        Liked by 1 person

        • I hear you and agree with Gandhi on that one. There is much beauty and truth under the rigid montage of the world’s religions.I truly believe that a lot if ‘believers’ are thus only because of the social aspect of the church/temple/whatever else. How many would still believe were they the only one to do so? My guess, is not many at all.
          What’s you site? I’d like to check it out. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

  2. Elizabeth says:

    Love it, few words and you said everything, when our minds are attached to dogmas and rules, we can’t create, fly, enjoy,…..

    Liked by 2 people

  3. serins says:

    hmm… this is very thought provoking. Nice Haiku. I like it….

    Like

  4. becca givens says:

    Powerful punch in concise wording!
    Although, I do not view “creed” as a rigid word or concept, I understand the multilayer of your Senyru!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. FlorenceT says:

    Ah, the rules of Man… we are beyond it 🙂
    “We are not human beings having a spiritual experience. We are spiritual beings having a human experience.” Pierre Teilhard de Chardin

    Liked by 1 person

  6. vivachange77 says:

    Deep and sure words. I really like your Haiku. In the matter of creeds and dogma I believe creeds are written for a certain time and are superseded by later understandings that have roots in the original theology of the creed. Dogma I do not like. I discovered Teilhard de Chardin a long time ago. His writings are part of what I call my “conscious spiritual pilgrimage” which continues to evolve.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: RonovanWrites Weekly #Haiku Prompt Challenge Rewind #13 | ronovanwrites

Share your thoughts

