Father, son; a cow and pigeons. Kathmandu, Nepal, 2013.

CAM00602

A cow in Durbar Square in Kathmandu, Nepal. In Nepal the cow is considered to be the Goddess Laxmi (goddess of wealth and prosperity) and the killing of cows is completely banned.
We arrived in Kathmandu the last day of one of the largest festival in the country, and the pigeons were going crazy over the remnants of food offerings peppered throughout the city (it was kinda gross IMHO, rotting food and gut is not my favorite smell). Also I’m not a big fan of the flying-rats. Nonetheless, it was quite surreal, if not unnerving (I saw Hitchcock’s The Birds at too early an age) to see so many of them surrounding that cow (a cow in the middle of the city!) which just chilling there as if it were alone in a grassy meadow.

 

Signature Photography

About cyrilbussiere

Author (Author.to/CyrilLCBussiere), Writer, Scientist, and Nurse-to-be. I'm into writing, reading, gaming, raising chickens, playing guitar, and traveling. Man, do I love traveling!
This entry was posted in Photography, Travels and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Father, son; a cow and pigeons. Kathmandu, Nepal, 2013.

  1. Reblogged this on Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life and commented:
    It took me a minute to realise what I was seeing…. surreal indeed.

    Like

  2. Hitchcock’s The Birds was the first real scary movie I saw, Cyril. Frightened the life out of me as well. Great picture by the way. Can you imagine if somebody had dropped a frying pan or something big near all those pigeons. ‘The Birds 2 – The Return.’ You could have been a movie star. I never liked Trafalgar Square!

    Like

    • Ha! A fellow bearer of the The Birds scare! I hear you about Trafalgar Square, been their once and it is indeed pigeon-full. Your frying pan suggestion reminds me of a time in the jungle of Taman Negara, in Malaysia, and a cave where a colony of bats decided to up and leave on us, I didn’t see one (my eyes were closed) and none actually touched me, but I felt their many wing flaps brush cool air over my face a myriad times. Fine once it was all said and done, scaring on the spot to say the least.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Sounds like you’ve already lived ‘The Birds 2’, Cyril. I have very short hair but I would have still been so afraid of just one of those bats getting tangled up in my hair if I had been in that cave. I hope they were not of the vampire kind that I know exist?

        Like

        • LOL, not that I know. But then again, sometimes you don’t feel it when they bite you and turning into a vampire, I have been told from the highest authority in the matter, can take many years. So who knows…

          Liked by 1 person

          • So you’ve been talking to Buffy, have you? Send her my regards. She did a great job in getting rid of the vampires from Brighton & Hove a few years back.

            Liked by 1 person

          • LOL! Big Buffy fan, here. I once watched the whole 7 seven series (I’m being British by using series instead of seasons ;)) during a lone Christmas my first year in Texas. And then another couple of times in the past ten years. I’m glad she got time to visit and help you guys out! 😉

            Liked by 1 person

  3. vivachange77 says:

    And amidst the awful birds and gross, rotting food the age-old picture of a father taking his son to see the sight. Human culture is a strange thing. I can’t imagine the cow is happy being sacred.

    Like

Share your thoughts

